2011 NMEAC Environmentalist of the Year Honors

555Student: Rein Bruining and Melissa Lakies of Traverse City West High School, for showing leadership in addressing environmental issues and setting an excellent example for students and teachers;

Educator: Karen Richard of Glen Lake Schools, for instilling in students a healthy respect for the natural world and setting an excellent example of the value of environmental education;

Grassroots Group: Friends of the Dam Beach/Elk Rapids (Patti Celovsky, Susan Hoover, Abby Husband, Melissa West), for empowering citizens to have an effective voice for preserving a special beach and dune area in Elk Rapids;

Journalism & Communications: Dave Barrons of “Outside In” program on Up North Community TV, for helping the public develop a deeper understanding of environmental issues facing the region;

Business: Grand Traverse Resort & Spa/Green Team, Martha Duby and Shaina O’Dwyer, for acting as a model of ecological sensitivity for employees and the community;

Public Service/Public Office: Acme Township Supervisor Wayne Kladder, for local governmental support of the Acme Shoreline Project and Farmland Preservation;

General: Warren Studley of Grass River Natural Area, for serving as a model of environmental leadership in the region;

Professional: Ellen Kohler of The Watershed Center/Grand Traverse Bay, for providing outstanding leadership through excellent work in the region;

Volunteer: Pat Salathiel and Paul Brink of the Acme Township shoreline project, for showing outstanding leadership in organizing community support for an outstanding project, and Anne Zuchowksi of Friends of the Jordan River Watershed, for outstanding contributions and leadership made to this all-volunteer organization;

Golden Beaver: Linda Sommerville of FLOW for Water Coalition, for outstanding work behind the scenes with a major volunteer effort;

Agriculture: Bernie and Sandee Ware/Ware Farm, for outstanding efforts in organic farming in the region;

Watchdog of the Year: Tom VanZoeren, for ongoing and continuing efforts to resolve pollution problems in Leelanau County;

John Nelson Water Steward Award: Leslie Lee, for longtime support to protect freshwater resources and environmental stewardship in the region;

Special Award for Excellence in Business: Thom Darga of the 101 North Park Project, for incorporating high environmental standards into this building in downtown Traverse City;

Clarence Kroupa Award: JoAnne Beemon of Friends of the Jordan, for showing a lifetime of environmental achievement and a long-term commitment to environmental issues in northern Michigan;

Golden Bulldozer: Ray Franz, state representative, for his opposition to renewable energy and offshore wind projects.